Board of Directors

About ECI’s Board of Directors

ECI is governed by a Board of Directors made up of industry executives. The chair and vice-chair are elected every two years.

The ECI Board of Directors sets the strategy for Europe, agrees the annual operating budget and ensures the Institute meets its legal and financial reporting obligations.

The Board currently consists of the following individuals:

Mr Oriol Guixà, La Farga – Chair
Ms Manuela Ramirez, Atlantic Copper – Vice-Chair
Mr Joel Adams, Glencore
Mr Gonzalo Cuadra, Codelco Services
Ms Augenija Di Bucci, BHP Billiton
Mr Jussi Helavirta, Luvata
Mr Sven Hjelmstedt, Boliden
Dr Jens Jacobsen, Aurubis
Mr Paweł Gruza, KGHM Polska Miedz
Mr Evangelos Moustakas, ElvalHalcor
Mr Italo Romano, KME Group
Mr Javier Targhetta, Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold

Past Chairs:

  • 2016–2018: Gonzalo Cuadra, Managing Director, Codelco Services
  • 2014–2016: Italo Romano, CFO, KME Group
  • 2012–2014: Stefan Boel, Member of the Executive Board, Aurubis
  • 2010–2012: Werner Traa, Member of the Executive Board, Wieland-Werke
  • 2008–2010: Javier Targhetta, CEO, Atlantic Copper
  • 2006–2008: Joerg Hanisch, Member of the Executive Board, Wieland-Werke
  • 2004–2006: John Crofts, Marketing Director, BHP Billiton
  • 2001–2004: Norbert Brodersen, Speaker of the Board, KME
  • 1999–2001: Karl-Axel Waplan, Vice-President, Boliden
  • 1998–1999: Seppo Kreula, President, Outokumpu Copper